All Good Things

This scent is the story summary on the cover-flap of the book about my life…All Good Things (2)

Dead. Serious.  I need a novel written like The Perks Of Being A Wallflower about my life, and in the front cover there is going to be one of those cologne strips like you’d get in a magazine and it is going to smell like All Good Things from Gorilla Perfumes via Lush Cosmetics.

“Succumb to this rich, sensual and smokey blend of all good things. Both bitter and sweet, representing a parting of ways and celebrating new beginnings. A sweet, boozy stumble down a dark basement staircase will leave you in a blissed out cloud of candyfloss and black pepper.”

Whoever wrote that is going to be hired as a creative consultant whenever I do get around to writing that book… It is like staring at the sum total of the emotional equivalent of my experiences through most of my existence. I have no idea why I had no concept of this until the new line of scents showed up recently in the States.  It is stupid perfect!  I immediately declared this to be my Summer Scent for this year and I am sticking with it.  It is basically like a summertime Lord of Misrule to me.  I can not express enough how cunty and wonderful this is to me on All levels!

All Good Things (1)
I mean come on!  LOOK AT THAT SHIMMER!

As to not be Totally vague and rely on the above description alone, let’s look at the actual oils used in this, starting with Cade because I actually had to look that up.

Cade oil comes from a type of Juniper tree that has a lot of antiseptic properties. In the case of Scent, it comes across as fresh and woodsy.  Add to that the Cedarwood oil and you’ve got the basis for a really potent wooded forest aroma.  The “candy floss and black pepper” annotated in the description is brought to us in the generalized “Perfume” part of the ingredient list in this item, I think.  I say this because I want to point out how interestingly smoky the black pepper makes the woodsy notes of the Cedar and Cade.  It gives it this really alluring campfire scent and it’s part of what drew me to it in the first place.

Now we take the Tonka and Rose oil with a little of that “candy floss” and bring to this smoky forest clearing a little bit of warm sweetness.  You would be a little thrown off by this just hearing how that sounds but I Swear to you it brings it together in the most stunning way possible.  It is by no means Overly sweet and what you really get up front are those wooded notes, but this grounding, warm, vanilla aroma works in making it a really playful and overall enticing profile.

It quite literally can take you into the most bittersweet memories of love and laughter shared in smoke filled hallways, a drink in one hand and the bass of some song track pulsing in the background.  Or away into a forest at night, campfires twinkling at random points in the distance while you and yours sit around a fire of your own, the smell of smoke and revelry on the air.  It is unbelievable.  A scent that can so easily fill me with both joy and longing at the same time.  I am very impressed, Lush.  Very impressed indeed.

Thank you for this product and the experience.

All Good Things (3)

DRF Alcohol, Perfume, Cedarwood Oil, Rose Oil, Tonka Absolute, Cade Oil, Anise Alcohol, Citral, Citronellol, Coumarin, Eugenol, Farnesol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methyl Ionone.

2 thoughts on “All Good Things

Leave a comment